In VC++ 2008: "generic type argument for 'T'" problem

Dec 11, 2010 at 5:48 AM

Hi,

I am new to Pcap.Net as well as VC++.NET. When I try to deploy the C# example code "ObtainingTheDeviceList" to VC++, there are build errors which indicate:

error C3225: generic type argument for 'T' cannot be 'PcapDotNet::Core::LivePacketDevice', it must be a value type or a handle to a reference type

I have successfully created a C# project and built and run. It seems that the problem only happens in VC++.

Can anyone tell me how to solve this error? Thanks.

Here is the code:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

#include "stdafx.h"

using namespace System;
using namespace System::Collections::Generic;
using namespace PcapDotNet::Core;

int main(array<System::String ^> ^args)
{
	IList <LivePacketDevice> allDevices = LivePacketDevice.AllLocalMachine;

if (allDevices.Count == 0)
	{
		Console.WriteLine("No interfaces found! Make sure WinPcap is installed.");
		return;
	}

// Print the list
	for (int i = 0; i != allDevices.Count; ++i)
	{
		LivePacketDevice device = allDevices[i];
		Console.Write((i + 1) + ". " + device.Name);
		if (device.Description != null)
			Console.WriteLine(" (" + device.Description + ")");
		else
			Console.WriteLine(" (No description available)");
	}
    return 0;
}

Coordinator
Dec 13, 2010 at 5:21 AM

Hi gallon,

I think you need to use IList<LivePacketDevice^>^ as the type to indicate that it's a reference type list of a reference type objects.

Boaz.

Dec 13, 2010 at 5:29 AM

Hi, brickner

Thank you for your suggestion. Actually, I have changed it to IList<LivePacketDevice^>^ , but there were other errors coming so that I changed it back.

Here is the changed code:

IList <LivePacketDevice^>^ allDevices = LivePacketDevice.AllLocalMachine;

Then I get the following error:

error C2275: 'PcapDotNet::Core::LivePacketDevice' : illegal use of this type as an expression

and